Asia, Explore

Dragon Boat Festival Weekend

In Taiwan, we celebrate 端午節 Duanwu Festival (also known as Dragon Boat Festival) on the fifth day of the fifth month on the traditional Chinese calendar. This year the public holiday fell on May 30th (Tuesday), so many people either had Monday off as well or took it off to give themselves a four day weekend. Every year my mom makes savory glutinous rice stuffed with different fillings called 粽子 zongzi. I ate too many to count because the ones my mom makes are so delicious! (I meant to take a photo of my zongzi but I kept forgetting to since I was so eager to eat them)

Along with eating a lot of yummy food, I spent the weekend adventuring out to new places. Check out what I did!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Friday & Saturday
I headed up to Taipei to stay with a friend who I hadn’t seen since college graduation. We made plans to go hiking the next morning because Taiwan has many cool hiking spots to explore. Next morning, we woke up at 6:00AM and took the bus to 茶壺山 Tea Pot mountain, which is located near a popular tourist spot, 九份 Jiufen. The trip took a little over an hour, so it wasn’t bad at all. The weather at Jiufen was cloudy and gloomy that morning, but breezy and nice.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The mountains were beautiful, breathtaking, and so peaceful to look out into.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

This hiking trail took us through areas where we had to climb up and down rocks using ropes. It was so much fun! (Use caution because technically it’s not allowed but people do it anyway)

We finished our hike in about four hours. Towards the end, it started pouring rain (luckily not while we were at the peak of the mountains), so we waited it out at a small gold museum. After realizing the rain wasn’t going to let up, we decided to suck it up and walk through to rain back to the bus station. Overall, despite being soaked, it was a very successful hike!

Sunday
My friend Daisy and I went to visit 三峽老街 Sanxia Old Street. It’s a small strip of street with preserved traditional red brick buildings that sell different types of food and little trinkets.

Tuesday
Daisy and I ventured out to 小烏來 Xiao Wu Lai, which is located in 復興區 Fuxing district. It’s a cool sightseeing area with a glass bridge that looks down on a big waterfall and two other rope bridges.

One of the main produce from Fuxing District is peaches. We bought fresh peach smoothies to drink and they were so good – not too sweet and just the right amount of blended ice!

As we were heading back to the entrance, it started pouring (this weekend’s weather hasn’t been on our side)! Luckily I brought both an umbrella and flip flops, so I braved the rain like a champ.

Overall, I had a super eventful, jam-packed, and fun long weekend. I’m grateful for the friends I have that spent the weekend with me and will cherish these memories. I know that this past weekend was also a long weekend for my American friends, to celebrate Memorial day. How did you all spend your weekend? Let me know in the comments! Hit that like button if you enjoyed reading about my adventures 🙂

Annie

Leave a Reply

