Musings

TLC Date with Me, Myself, and I

Lately I’ve been feeling pretty bleh. Juliet suggested I take myself on a date for some R&R to reset. I took her up on that suggestion and went on a little date by myself while also reminding myself not to feel guilty for doing so. I am really hard on myself and it mentally takes a toll on me. It’s something I have to actively work on because I notice it but don’t put in enough effort to do something about it.

This date was all about doing things that helped me de-stress, relax, and not think about anxiety-inducing subjects. I feel a sense of accomplishment when I go to the gym early in the morning because I can check it off my to-do list and I don’t have to worry about it for the rest of the day. I was particularly satisfied with this workout because I had a pretty killer legs/glutes workout. I decided to go watch Guardians of the Galaxy 2 after the gym so I had an efficient workout done in an hour, had enough time to clean up and walk to the movie theatre. I watched the first one recently and really enjoyed it so I was excited to watch the second movie. Most people probably wanted to watch the second one because of baby groot, a super cute character in the movie. I’m glad I watched it because it had the perfect amount of comedy and action!

After the movie, I went home, read, and relaxed for the rest of the day. I would say it was a pretty successful R&R day.

Taking days to yourself is very important for your mental health to recuperate. Sometimes the busyness and stress can prevent you from enjoying life, so don’t forget to take care of yourself when you’re feeling unmotivated or overwhelmed.

What do you do when you’re feeling down in the dumps? Let me know in the comments!

Annie

Leave a Reply

