Day in the Life, Fitness

My Fitness Journey: An Update

Two months ago, I set some fitness goals to improve my life. It’s time to reflect back on how well I did, what I learned along the way, and ways I could do better.
(If you’re not caught up, you can go here to read that post first.)

Past Workout Split

Current Workout Split

Monday

Chest + Biceps

Chest + Triceps

Tuesday

Legs

Legs

Wednesday

Cardio + Abs

Cardio + Abs

Thursday

Back + Triceps

Back + Biceps

Friday

Legs

Legs

Saturday

Cardio + Abs

Shoulders + Triceps

Sunday

Shoulders + Triceps

Rest Day

Changes I made two weeks in after testing out my workout split in March

March & April Goals

  • Make a conscious effort to eat healthier (eg. don’t reach for that bag of chips! Switching out junk food with healthier alternatives.)
  • Test out working chest + biceps on one day and back + triceps on another day
  • Lose 10lbs (~4.5kg)

What I learned

  • Chest + biceps and back + triceps didn’t work out for me. After testing this out for a few weeks, I realized that I didn’t have the energy to work on a push and pull muscle together in one day. Some people have experienced tired triceps after doing chest exercises, which then prevents them from having a good tricep workout. However, I found that I had a better workout this way.
  • Rest days are important. My body was exhausted after 14 consecutive days of working out that I had less motivation to keep going. After making Sunday my rest day for the week, I noticed my motivation to go to the gym went up because I would push myself to go all out during the week so that the Sunday day off felt well-earned. Rest days are also important because I increased the number of muscle groups I work on certain days. Interestingly, back in college when I first started weight lifting, my motivation came from the number of days I could go without taking a day off. Now I know that rest is more important to me than trying to keep that streak going.
  • HIIT is a more fun cardio workout. The first few days of cardio were brutal for me. I hated it. All I did was run on the treadmill at the same speed for 15-20 minutes. B-O-R-I-N-G. So I decided to switch it up and do HIIT instead. Wow, why didn’t I do this from the beginning?? Not only did it go by really fast, but I learned it is more effective at burning fat. I do 30 seconds sprints and 30 seconds rest for 15 minutes.
  • My left and right side have imbalances in strength. I wrote a post about this here. Currently in the process of correcting that.
  • Losing weight is a lot harder than I thought in Taiwan. There are different food options, so I’m slowly learning more about what healthy foods are available here in Taiwan. I didn’t end up losing the amount of weight I wanted, so that’s something I’ll have to continue working on.
  • Snacks can be tempting, especially when they’re readily available at home. I try not to buy unhealthy snacks (although I did treat myself once in awhile) and if I had the urge to buy snacks, I picked the healthier alternatives, like flaxseed buckwheat crackers vs. chips.

Next Steps

  • I’m really enjoying my current workout routine and have seen improvement in my strength, especially my triceps (they were my weaker muscles). Switching up a few of the exercises I do each day has been helpful so that I don’t get bored and end up mindlessly going through the motions.
  • My next goal is to start working out in the mornings instead of the afternoons. That way I can get it out of the way first thing in the morning so I have time to get more things done during the day. My plan is to have everything I need for the gym ready to go the night before so all I have to do in the morning is wake up, get out of bed and head straight to the gym without any distractions.
  • Continue learning about healthy options available in Taiwan and being more diligent about not overeating.

Disclaimer: everything I write is based on my own research and experience. I do not claim to be an expert as I am still learning new things along the way. So I encourage you to do your own research when there are things you’re unsure about!

Hit that like button if you want more fitness related posts or enjoyed reading! 🙂

Annie

Leave a Reply

