Musings

What do you no longer believe?


Prologue by Juliet

Ramit Sethi is a personal finance advisor and entrepreneur, creator of I Will Teach You To Be Rich. I first heard him on the podcast So Money, and then subscribed to his newsletter. In one newsletter, he asked his followers, “What do you no longer believe?” You can check out how he and other people answer his question here, and how Annie and I answer the question below.

Juliet: I no longer believe that all we need is more time. Everybody’s given 24 hours in a day, and it’s about how you utilize your time in order to get where you want to be in life. Nobody knows when they will leave the mortal world, so it’s about doing the things you want to do before you regret not doing so. Use your time wisely and spend it with the people you respect and love, and on things that you enjoy doing and help you move towards the best version of you.

Annie: I no longer believe that everyone has the same perception of reality or what is considered normal. When I was young, I developed amblyopia because I didn’t know having blurry vision in my left eye was a concern – I thought this was normal since no one had told me otherwise. We assume everyone should have common sense, but based on my experience that is not always the case. Your environment and experiences can shape your common sense differently than others. So the next time someone does or says something “wrong” but you think should be common sense, remember that perhaps they just don’t know any better because they weren’t brought up in the same environment or had the same experiences as you.

What do you guys no longer believe? We’d love to hear your thoughts!

-Juliet & Annie

Leave a Reply

