Musings, Weekly Favorites

Favorites from Week of March 13th

img_4458

Thoughts of the Week

Juliet: Annie challenged me to create the illustration for my post this week. My first reaction was: SIIIIGH. There’s a reason why I didn’t stick with art classes for very long. I have creative ideas in my head, but it’s difficult for me to turn them into reality  due to lack of skills. I also believe that if someone else can make my dream a better reality, why am I killing myself over in order to get it done?! But I gave it my best shot anyways, so wooooo!

Annie: I realized that I put too much stress on myself. My overthinking mind goes to the worst when I’m uncertain about things and that causes me to stress out even more. Then I become overwhelmed. I need to figure out a way prevent myself from getting to that point.

Things We’ve Been Enjoying

Annie

  • This hilarious episode of Good Mythical More: Are You Wiping Wrong?
  • I stumbled upon this video of a 36 year old woman named Sam Bailey, who won the X-Factor in 2013. She sets a great example for many out there that it’s never too late to follow your dreams! The video is over an hour long of all her performances from her auditions to her final performance.

Juliet

  • Netflix show: One Day at a Time. It’s a sitcom remake of a 1975 series about a Cuban-American family. The mom is a separated military veteran; the son is a tween; the daughter is a strong-headed, feminist woman; and the grandma is just sassy. This show isn’t like many others: within the first few episodes, they’ve touched upon sexism, sexuality, and treatment of veterans.

Let us know in the comments below what you’ve been enjoying or thinking about this week!

Leave a Reply

