Musings

Our MBTI Challenge

Inspired by Wong Fu Production’s Lunch Break episode, we took a MBTI survey to see how well we know each other’s personality. Both of us took it twice, once for ourselves and once for the other person. The personality traits we were tested on:

null

Want to see how we did and how I (Annie) psychoanalyze each of us?

Juliet’s MBTI guess for Annie: ISFJ
Annie’s MBTI: INFPnull

I took the test twice. First time I took the test I was “The Adventurer” (ISFP). Second time I took the test I was “The Mediator” (INFP). The reason I got different results is because I am on the borderline of sensing and intuition (I’m 53% intuitive). However, I relate to “The Adventurer” more than “The Mediator”. Juliet was partially wrong both times!

Adventurers’ relaxed, non-judgmental attitudes make it easy for them to get along with others, but it’s not always the same way around.

Some of my strengths include:

  • Open-minded and flexible: I am a very “go with the flow” type of person and not a high maintenance kind of friend. That’s why I get along so well with people who are complete opposites of me because I can be flexible and be okay with whatever. However, if I do feel strongly about something, I will speak up.
  • Charming: I don’t see myself as charming but Juliet does. However, I do agree with the part that I have a “live and let live” attitude, which the results say is part of my charm.
  • Independent: This trait falls under the weakness section, but to me it is one of my strengths. Many people tell me how brave and independent I am for moving all the way to the other side of the world by myself for university. When I was starting out as a freshman at Boston University, not only did I not know anyone there but I also had to adapt to an entirely new environment. Wow I was pretty badass. However, for someone who hates asking for help, I wouldn’t be where I am without my strong support system.
  • Creative, artistic, imaginative – these are the traits that I know deep down have the potential to become my strengths but have yet to fully explore and tap into.

Some of my weaknesses include: independent, easily stressed, difficult to get to know.

  • Easily stressed: This is a really big weakness of mine that I’m still working on.
  • Difficult to get to know: Juliet can probably attest to this. I am reserved and private because I don’t open up unless I trust that person. When I asked Juliet what she thought of me once she got to know me, she exclaimed, “You talk a lot!” What’s interesting is that by writing for AJRestlessFeet, I’m learning to open up more to people (yes you!) and show the real me.

It is perhaps more challenging for Mediators to find a satisfying career than any other type.

I relate to this sentence all too well. I don’t fit into the conventional work environment, where I’m told what to do without room for creativity and independence. If I don’t feel passionate about the work I’m doing or it doesn’t seem like I can make meaningful relationships with the people I’m working with, then I lose interest. My ideal career would involve doing what I love without the stress and strictness of professional life. Despite knowing all this, I still feel the pressure to conform to what most people do because of the uncertainty of going “the road less traveled”; this will take time for me to accept and conquer.

Annie’s MBTI Guess for Juliet: ENTJ
Juliet’s MBTI: ENTJnull

I know Juliet so well. This Steve Job’s quote describes Juliet in a nutshell:

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.

She is a natural-born leader with the most confident personality when it comes to her work and social life. When she sets her mind to a goal, her determination and drive allows her to achieve anything she wants. She is always up for a challenge, especially in the workforce (if her most recent post is any indication) and is always looking for ways to make her life as efficient as possible.

For someone who loves challenges, she shies away from the biggest challenge: emotional expression. She feels uncomfortable in these situations because it’s unfamiliar territory. She is all about efficiency so logic and rationality are favored over emotions. That’s why she comes to me for advice because I’m the emotional one.

For Commanders, failure is not an option – they conceive a vision of the future, formulate a strategy to achieve that vision, and execute each step with ruthless precision.

Juliet is a “get shit done” type of person. If someone holds her back with incompetence, laziness, or inefficiency, she is not afraid of doing something about it in order to reach her goals. However, she understands that success comes from teamwork and is able to recognize the talents of others.

The ideal career path for her include executive positions and entrepreneurialism. She becomes bored with the mundane day-to-day “bitch work” because she is happier in positions that gives her the responsibility and leadership. She holds herself to high standards and seeks out opportunities for growth through feedback. It’s her favorite thing to do at work – scheduling meetings with her manager to have feedback sessions. Her thirst for knowledge allows her to remain productive and engaged. Not only is she always looking for ways to grow, she enjoys teaching and helping others reach their potential as well.

Take the survey and let us know in the comments what your MBTI personality is. We’d love to get to know more about our readers!

Annie

Leave a Reply

