Day in the Life, Fitness

My Fitness Journey: Starting Fresh

gym dumbbells
(The gym I work out at)

IMG_4521

The Beginning
I have always been a physically active person. Ever since I could remember, I loved to play outside with my older brother (of course playing “house” indoors was also a favorite activity of mine). I joined the cross country team in eighth grade, and then soccer and touch rugby teams in high school. However, throughout high school, I never felt like physically, I looked in shape. I thought my lower body and arms were too big. It wasn’t always a big insecurity of mine until I had trouble finding clothes that fit me (usually pants). After high school, the only exercise I got was through playing intramural and pick up soccer once in a while. Fast forward to 2014 summer, after I drank and ate my way through my study abroad program in London, I decided it was time to get my butt back into shape.

I had a good mentor and motivator who helped me through my fears of weight lifting. With his encouragement and the workout plan he created for me, I pushed out of my comfort zone and stuck to the plan. When I first started weight lifting, I spent a lot of time watching videos on how to do certain exercises because I was afraid of doing it wrong. I was also afraid to do some of the exercises because it seemed tough and I doubted myself. But once I forced myself to try, I found out that it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be.

I started out getting my motivation from outside sources, but gradually I was able to find motivation from within. It felt amazing to be able to go to the gym consistently. I began to trust the process, even if I didn’t see immediate results. That was probably the most difficult part about it all – working out everyday and being unsure if what I was doing made any difference. But slowly I started to see results and was in the best shape of my life. Then life happened and I couldn’t find the motivation to go to the gym consistently anymore.

Present (2017)
I want to go back to that lifestyle – the one where I felt amazing, strong, and healthy. I recently changed up my workout split (the muscle groups I train on a given day over the course of a week). I wanted to switch up my workouts so I don’t get bored at the gym. So far this year, I have done a good job going to the gym regularly. I’m proud of myself! I went from viewing exercise as a way to lose weight at the beginning of my fitness journey to making exercise a part of a healthy lifestyle (one that I’m still working on). With that being said, I’ve been indulging in more junk food than I care to admit, but that is going to change! My goal is to become more conscious in my eating habits and add variety to my routine by updating my workout split.

You can order your workout split in different ways. What works for each person and provides the most effective results are based on many factors like your goals, daily schedule, and understanding how your own body functions. Sometimes it’s good to switch up your workout routine because your muscles adapt to doing the same exercises. Adding variety will challenge your muscles.  Below is my updated workout split:

  1. Monday: Chest + Biceps
  2. Tuesday: Legs
  3. Wednesday: Cardio + Abs
  4. Thursday: Back + Triceps
  5. Friday: Legs
  6. Saturday: Cardio + Abs
  7. Sunday: Shoulders + Triceps

Cardio is something I’m lacking (I hate cardio!), but something I need to incorporate into my routine again because I know it helps with weight loss. I do triceps two days a week because I realize that this muscle group is weaker compared to other muscle groups. I’ve read on multiple sites and forums that many people will do “chest + bis, back + tris” OR “chest + tris, back + bis” – both works well for different people. I’m going to test how my muscles do with “chest + bis” and “back + tris”. Depending on how I feel doing these muscle groups together, I will either stick with it or switch it up. I’m also doing legs/glutes twice a week because it’s my biggest insecurity and I want to change that! By all means, this is not a perfect workout split. I’m still testing out different things to see what works best for me and continuing to expand my fitness knowledge.

Goals/experiment for the next two months (March & April):

  • Make a conscious effort to eat healthier (eg. don’t reach for that bag of chips! Switching out junk food with healthier alternatives.)
  • Test out working chest + biceps on one day and back + triceps on another day
  • Lose 10lbs (~4.5kg)

I get pumped to workout by listening to music mainly on this playlist I made for Juliet or this country playlist on Spotify. I will also either take pre-workout when I need the extra motivation and/or I will take BCAAs during my workout to help with muscle recovery.

(Pre-workout: NLA for Her: Uplift. Favorite flavor: Raspberry Lemonade. BCAAs: NLA for Her: Her Aminos. Favorite flavor: Watermelon)

I look forward to seeing how effective this updated workout routine will be.

Let me know down in the comments what your workout split is and/or what you do to stay healthy. Hit that like button so I know you enjoyed reading! 🙂

Annie

2 thoughts on “My Fitness Journey: Starting Fresh”

Leave a Reply

