Europe, Explore

I have arrived in London! Here’s what has been going on during the first week.

Hello there! It’s been a while I must say. Last time I written anything was probably in October of last year and I apologize. It’s been a hectic few months and I’ve only been able to get around to writing about my time so far in London! No excuses this time and I hope I will be able to keep up with the blogging. This past week has not only been completely exhausting, but so much fun at the same time. I’m really enjoying my time here in London so far. Let’s start from the beginning – my 13 hour flight from Bangkok to London.

My flight was scheduled to fly out at midnight so I arrived at the airport about three hours earlier to check-in, just to be on the safe side. Good thing I did because the lines went so far down the airport that I couldn’t even see the check-in counter while standing in line.

Photo Jan 11, 3 12 10 PM

The 13 hour flight was actually not as bad as I thought it would be. I got enough sleep AND I felt completely rested, which usually never happens when I try to sleep on the plane.

I took my first step out of the airport and I could already tell that I was going to love this place. The weather was nice and fresh and everything was just so new and different. We took a cab to The Crofton, which is where I would be staying for the next four months. Lemme just say, the taxis here have incredibly large space in them; not only could we fit 3 people, we could also fit 6 luggages! Now that’s impressive. After arriving at The Crofton, I got to meet my three roommates and begin unpacking. Another thing I learned about London is that that the first floor is called the ground floor and the second floor is called the first floor. I was somewhat already used to that because I grew up using “ground floor” as the first floor, but because I had been living in the states for the past 2.5 years, it still took a bit of time to get the hang of again. So my roommates and I live in room with bunk beds and I’m so happy that I get to sleep in the bottom bunk because having to climb up and down those bunk ladders to get to the bathroom in the middle of the night would be such a nightmare.

Photo Jan 12, 11 51 27 AMPhoto Jan 12, 11 51 10 AM

This is probably the cleanest our room will ever be.

After all the introductions and stuff, two of my roomies and I decided to walk around the area to see if we could find some place to eat. We came across this small restaurant called The Diner and decided to try it out. I got this very delicious, but messy as fuck burger with this really awesome beer. I was content.

Photo Jan 12, 4 53 58 PM

On the next day, we had orientation in which we learned a bit about the history of the UK and the culture. We were then able to go on a boat tour to see some of the cool sites of London. A few included:

Photo Jan 13, 2 14 38 PMPhoto Jan 13, 2 13 50 PM

Nightlife in London

On the first night, we went to a nice little pub near The Crofton called Queen’s Arms. There I met a bunch of cool new people and we just drank some beers and hung out. I’ve also been to O’Neill’s which was a lot of fun. This place was cool because it was three stories high with different atmospheres on each floor. The first floor was more chill and quiet, with a bunch of tables where people could sit and talk with friends. The second floor had a bar, loud music, and even more tables for people to chat. The third floor had a live band and a dance floor, which is where we spent majority of our time.

1606894_10203348897189517_29788052_n1520703_10203348896509500_1380768698_n

Funny story. One night, as we were walking around, looking for a pub to go to, we stumbled upon this pub called Dukes of Wellington. It seemed like a decent place to hang out, so we walked in. While we looked around for a place to sit, we all kind of realized that there were at least two guys at each table…that is when we figured out…we had just entered a gay bar. We sat down, huddled together a bit, and waited for our friend to come back from the restroom. When we came back, we were like, “So, we realized that this is a gay bar. Want to go some place else?” Of course there wasn’t anything wrong with the place. We were just hoping to be in another type of crowd that night.

I know I’m kind of all over the place because it’s been a crazy week and I’m already having a hard time keeping up with all the things that have happened. But anyway, continuing what has happened so far worth noting.

A few of us went to Portobello market which sold a lot of cool, vintage things. I bought a ring there for five pounds (!!) and a baggy sweater that’s really comfy. I also bought a strawberry and nutella crΓͺpe which was the most amazing thing ever.

1521485_10152218687289903_572364694_n1511290_10152218687419903_472809252_n

Similarly to Juliet’s experience in Australia, the building floor names are also named differently. Like Australia, there are negative floors. Oh, the people here also drive like crazy. But the public transportation is beautiful, compared to Boston. The public transportation is also usually a place for the British people to silent and have their “me time”, and I can’t count the number of times where us group of Americans (though I’m not American) have been glared at for being ridiculously loud and obnoxious. I’m not part of that obnoxious crowd, but that’s okay. I forgive them. haha. They are just having their fun, why try to go and ruin it for them, right?

Anyway, I think that is all I can write for now. I’m about to get ready to go out to a nice bar to chill. Just my kind of night.

Till next time!

Annie

Leave a Reply

