Musings

Australia Juliet is different from America Juliet

Most people tell me that I’m too fast-paced to be from California. I would prove it to you guys that I am from California with a picture of my birth certificate, but my dad can’t seem to find it whenever I ask to take a look at it. Don’t judge a book by its cover though, because somewhere deep inside, I believe I am the embodiment of the Californian girl. Just deep, deep, deep, deep, deep down inside.

When my roommates in Boston and I first moved into our apartment, it was complete filth. The people who lived there before us were guys, and we know how college boys tend to be gross and ugh about their living situations. The floors were coated with a thick layer of dust… fine. I can clean and deal with that. However, I cannot deal when the kitchen cupboards and floor are black. Black. My first through was, “AW HELL NO, THIS GIRL AIN’T LIVIN’ WITH NO NASTY KITCHEN.” I spent three days with one of my roommates cleaning the kitchen- she cleaned the cupboards with Swiffer wipes and toothbrushes while I cleaned the floor with vinegar, toothbrushes and towels. It was clean, go to class, back from class, eat in the living room, clean again… I couldn’t function normally knowing that the kitchen was gross.  I didn’t want to do homework or meet new people because my kitchen was gross. Yup, I’m that kind of a person.

But I didn’t bring that neurotic attitude to Australia. It seems to have left me when I got off the plane at Sydney International. And I can prove it too! Welcome to our dorm. It’s tiny and not the most comfortable, but it sure is homey! Let me show you around.

DSCN3484

Those are three plastic bag triangles that have been on the floor ever since I put them there. Maybe I threw them down there, but tomato, tomato. It doesn’t belong there, but who cares.

DSCN3487

That’s Henry. He’s the floor vacuum cleaner and an unbelievable gem. He’s been living with us for the last… four days? Whoops. Look at him all shying away from the camera.

DSCN3488

Our living room is tiny. I’m talking about three people sit on the couch and everybody else on the floor. I eat dinner on the floor a lot. It’s because I don’t like the high chairs they give us. Too high up. The air’s too fresh. Anyways, I set my drying rack in the living room because the rooms are too tiny. In America, that would not be okay because I’d be airing my dirty laundry. But it’s Australia… what the hell, right?

DSCN3489

We don’t have a dishwasher, which is fine because I only learned how to use those things three months ago anyways. But there’s no space to have a drying rack set up, so we dry it right on the counter. Yeah, we’re creative.

So that’s a little tour of my apartment. I’m completely loving Australia right now. AUSTRALIA, I LOVE YOU! Do you get the point?

There’ll be more to come this weekend!

Peace out bruhs,
Juliet

Leave a Reply

